Love Never Seemed So Real.

As promised I wanted to focus on one song that really makes me smile. As I first mentioned in my post today A Glimpse Into Another Person Via Music I had my music on shuffle and I thought about different stories behind each of the songs. One in particular came up, Arms – Christina Perri this song means a lot to me, they used to play it at work where I first heard it. It wasn’t until I stopped and truly listened to the lyrics and realized how much it meant to me.

First off I’m not an emotional person, there is only a few people in this world that can make me tear up from their kind words. One of those people would be Sean. He’s the one of a kind and the only constant person in my life for 8 years. Started off friends, apparently something happened. Texting became a constant and hanging out without the rest of the group was more common. Its your classic romance that everyone seen by the two that mattered. As things continued I won’t lie – I panicked. I told him I couldn’t do it anymore. I was afraid more than anything, I didn’t want to get hurt, and most importantly I never wanted to hurt him.  After some hurtful words were said, we agreed that our friendship was more important that anything and we continued on with our friendship. This was easily the longest, saddest week that I had to deal with in a long while. I realized that pushing him away wasn’t the right thing to do, and maybe that’s what it took for me to understand what I really felt for him. Regardless after a long night of talking, apologizing, and regret we resolved everything. After about two weeks or so we started dating, its been almost a year, and I’ve loved every second of it.

Now back to the song. This has described the relationship that never happened for me. Its a constant reminder to me how lucky I am to have what God has graced me with.

“I tried my best to never let you in to see the truth
And I’ve never opened up, I’ve never truly loved ’til you put your arms around me and I believe that it’s easier for you to let me go
I hope that you see right through my walls I hope that you catch me, ’cause I’m already falling I’ll never let a love get so close You put your arms around me and I’m home.”

Not only am I so glad he wanted to keep the friendship, but I’m so much more grateful for that fact that he didn’t just push me off. Patience, above all is what saved me here. He understood that I was scared of being hurt. Not only has he broken that wall, but hes made me know that I’ll never be hurt by his side. I’m not one for sap stories, but they words I type doesn’t even show how blessed I am. Everyone deserves to find their true love, someone that cares and wants happiness.  God brings people into your life for a reason, and I was given a gift eight years ago.

“And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

Corinthians 13:13

Leave a Reply

