Horror Remakes – Good or Bad?

When you’re watching a good horror movie, you’re most likely in it for the scares. Nothing is better than a classic, sure. There’s just that one problem, old horror movies just aren’t scary anymore. Which is a shame when you think about it, I mean classics are important, there’s nothing better than enjoying the old- what used to be scary movies. The remakes (given the fact they are done well) can be absolutely terrifying.

I love horror movies, and hate them at the same time. There’s just something about being scared that I love and hate. So when I fall in love with the classics like Carrie and Halloween, I look forward to the remake. Not because I’m tired of the old – but sometimes there is just something about a new remake that makes me happy.

In the same breath I still love seeing something new, The Conjuring was actually a really good example of this. With all the high tech filming we have now, it’s easy for filmmakers to absolutely terrify anyone who is willing to watch. It can be hard with the horror genre though, new is old. Almost everything has been done in some way or another. When one these new films become popular, then sequel after sequel is beat out of it leaving not only an overused concept but a shitty franchise. (Paranormal Activity being the worst on this)

That’s the beauty of a remake, it’s not making a great classic worse by expanding the story, it’s making a new version to love and watch. Now I’m not saying that all remakes are good, because some are horrid – (Friday the 13th) and not all movie franchises are shitty (Saw). With all the classic movies being remade, like Carrie, and more recently Poltergeist, it really makes me excited for whats to come. Especially if they ever make a remake of Pet Sematary, because I swear that is the best Stephen King Novel ever and it deserves a good remake.

So horror remakes – I think they’re good as long as you remake responsibly. So film makers keep making me scared, and keep on entertaining me. As long as you’re making something worth watching – I’ll watch it.

9 thoughts on “Horror Remakes – Good or Bad?

      1. Death Proof (2007)
        (Stuntman Mike): “Well, since you’ll be leaving in the next couple of days, that rain check will be worthless. But that’s okay. I understand if I make you uncomfortable. You’re still a nice girl, and I still like you. But I must warn you of something – you know how people say ‘You’re okay in my book’ or ‘In my book, that’s no good?’ Well, I actually have a book. And everybody I ever meet goes in this book. And, now I’ve met you, and you’re going in the book! Except, I’m afraid I must file you… under… chicken shit.”
        did you watched that movie dear? :))

        Like

Leave a Reply

