#GeekPrideDay why it’s important to me.

I’m a Nerd in any definition of the word. Theses no doubt in my mind, and today I seen that it’s our day – Nation Geek Pride day! This was so nice to see, not only because its great to see so many people banding together over talents, hobbies, and interests, but it’s a whole day dedicated to our “culture”. Now when I was younger and in high school being into these types of thing we’re “uncool” and not wanting to become a social outcast, I had to almost hide my love and passions. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t hanging out with the right crowd, but when I hit my senior year, I knew that it didn’t matter that I was this big nerd, because thats why my friends loved me – I was always the nerd in the group. I even have a star wars/Harry Potter quote in my senior yearbook. “May the Force be with you, always” (“Always” being the harry potter nod.)

The other day though as I dragged Sean into the comic book store for the millionth time, (He loves me even though he’s dating a big nerd) we also went in with our other “couple” friends, they were very confused but almost shell shocked at the same time. Many people describe nerd and geeks to be a “culture”, and it wasn’t until I seen seen Ben and Destiny’s confused at the magic the gathering weekly friday tournament, that I realized. We are a culture.

Culture (noun) – (1) the beliefs, customs, arts, etc., of a particular society, group, place, or time (2) a particular society that has its own beliefs, ways of life, art, etc. (3) a way of thinking, behaving, or working that exists in a place or organization (such as a business)

Now, I would never expect to be considered a culture until I really seen it for myself just how people react seeing us do whatever it is we do. We are just as much a culture as anything else. So as Jen would say “Ich Bin Ein Nerd”. I am a Nerd. And I’m proud. Never be ashamed of what you like, and never hide what you love.

2 thoughts on “#GeekPrideDay why it’s important to me.

Leave a Reply

